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SUMMARY 
 
Synopsis of House Joint Resolution 2   
 
House Joint Resolution 2 (HJR2) proposes an amendment to Article IV, Section 22, New Mexico 
Constitution to eliminate the governor’s ability to “pocket veto” legislation. Under the current 
provision, the governor must approve bills presented during the last three days of a session 
within 20 days after the Legislature adjourns. If the governor does not approve a bill within the 
required 20 days, the bill does not become law, or is “pocket vetoed.” HJR2 amends the 
provision to require bills presented to the governor during the last three days of the session to be 
approved or vetoed within 20 days after adjournment. Unless vetoed within the required 20 days, 
the bill becomes a law.  
 
HJR2 also requires the governor to provide an explanation for every veto. Currently, the 
constitution only requires the governor to explain her objections to bills that are vetoed while the 
Legislature is in session. 
 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS  
 
Under Section 1-16-4 NMSA 1978 and the New Mexico Constitution, the Secretary of State 
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(SOS) is required to print samples of the text of each constitutional amendment in both Spanish 
and English in an amount equal to 10 percent of the registered voters in the state. SOS is required 
to publish the samples once a week for four weeks preceding the election in newspapers in every 
county in the state. Further, the number of constitutional amendments on the ballot may impact 
the ballot page size or cause the ballot to be more than one page, also increasing costs. The 
estimated cost per constitutional amendment is $75 thousand to $85 thousand, depending on the 
size and number of ballots and if additional ballot stations are needed.  
 
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
A similar joint resolution to HJR2, SJR2, was proposed in 2021. HJR2 is identical to 2021 SJR2 
except for section D of 2024 HJR2 expanding language regarding veto explanations and where 
they should be sent to. 
 
Agency analysis from the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) for HJR2 points to 2021 
SJR 2’s FIR, which had a table received from Legislative Council Services that collected the 423 
bills the governor vetoed between 2010 and 2020. Of that 423, 221 of the bills were “pocket 
vetoed” after the Legislature had adjourned.  
 
Analysis from AOC also addressed that 21 pieces of legislation were left unsigned, or “pocket 
vetoed,” by the governor after the 2023 session. AOC also points to Colorado’s government and 
its veto process: 

 The governor may sign the bill, and the bill becomes law;  
 The governor may let the bill become law without signature; or 
 The governor may veto the bill. If the governor vetoes the bill while the General 

Assembly is still in session, the governor will return the bill to the house of introduction 
along with the veto message. The General Assembly can override the governor's veto if 
both chambers of the General Assembly repass the bill with a two-thirds majority vote 
from each chamber. If the General Assembly has adjourned, there is no opportunity for 
an override. 

 
Analysis from the Office of the Governor believes that if the bill was approved it would result in 
a “consistent veto process for all bills regardless of when presented to the governor.” Analysis on 
the previous joint resolution (SJR2) from the Office of the Governor also noted that the bill 
would impede on the governor’s executive’s authority and could disrupt the balance of power 
enumerated in the New Mexico Constitution. The previous analysis also stated that the bill 
would create an unnecessary burden on the governor to have to explain each veto.   
 
OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES 
 
Analysis from the previous joint resolution, SJR2, points out that neither HJR2 nor 2021 SJR2 
has any enforceable standard as to the level of explanation required for a veto. The analysis 
implies that a simple statement like “the Governor doesn’t approve the bill” would be the most 
likely explanation attached to vetoes.  
 
AD/al/ne/hg 


